It was epic

November 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

J-E-N-O-V-A

I attended the Distant Worlds 2010 North America Tour Toronto concert yesterday. Let me just say that it was epic. There wasn’t much room for commentary, just jam packed with memorable music. Even if I didn’t play half of the Final Fantasy’s I could still appreciate the music Nobou Uematsu composed. I was pleasantly surprised that they performed Maria and Draco Opera from FFVI, Battle With Gilgamesh from FFV and J-E-N-O-V-A from FFVIII. They also included soundtracks from FFXIV, making this performance a first in North America. I wasn’t too fond of the FFXIII selections. I didn’t particularly like the voice of the solo singer for The Promise and the strings section were not nearly as powerful as in the recorded version of Blinded By Light. I would suggest they acquire a solo violinist for that key part of the song. I very much enjoyed Vamo alla’ Flamenco from FFIX. They got a solo guitarist to play along with the orchestra, which definitely brought out the Spanish atmosphere needed for the song. Of course the standard One Wing Angel, To Zanarkand, and Libera Fatali was amazing mainly for the sentimental value. Also, Nobou Uematsu joined the choir to sing One Wing Angel. Which practically made this performance of it that much more amazing and special. I was disappointed that they didn’t do any songs from FFIV. But there is always next time! I am hoping that they make a return, along with Nobou Uematsu. Perhaps next time I’ll even get to meet him!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It was epic at [Kureejii to Agg].

meta

